One Day Down!

So far things are going really well.  It’s amazing how much more mindful of my eating I’ve become in just the past two days.  I consider myself to be pretty conscious about what I eat, but at the same time, I have what some might call a slight sugar addiction :).  I love love love to bake and almost always crave something sweet after I eat.  I usually have some sort of homemade baked good on my counter so most of my friends are shocked to hear I’m giving up all processed sugar for the summer.  Most of them ask, “what are you going to do if you can’t bake?”  I know it’s shocking, but it’s something I’ve wanted to do for a long time and I’m actually looking forward to experimenting with my baking and finding ways to make delicious baked goods without processed sugars.

However, I’m also looking forward to knowing what it’s like not to constantly be craving sugar.  In the past two days, I haven’t really felt like I’ve wanted sugar too much, but that might have something to do with the fact that Amanda and I baked up a storm in the past month and my body needs to detox :).  One thing that I have noticed is that it almost feels liberating to not eat sugar.  I thought it would feel restrictive, but I don’t feel that way at all.  Before we started this challenge, if I saw a baked good then I would almost certainly want to eat it and would have to battle with myself not to eat it–or at least not to eat too much.  Now that I’m not eating sugar, it’s much easier to just say no.

One of the goals of this challenge is also to be more mindful of what we’re eating.  I always add protein powder to my smoothies, but found out yesterday that my protein powder has sugar in it.  Who knew?  I guess it’s not that surprising since it does taste kind of sweet, but honestly I had never thought about that before.  Then last night, my husband and I went out to dinner and he grabbed some hard candies by the cash register on our way out.  I normally would do the same thing and when I saw him reach for the candies, I realized  that I almost always reach for those candies too without even thinking about it.

The other thing that I’m really looking forward to with this challenge is to see how my energy levels change.  Even though I exercise regularly, I still often feel lethargic and I’m interested to see if I my energy level increases as my sugar intake decreases.

And because I think blogs are way more exciting if they have pictures, I’ll leave you with a couple of pictures of us from Amanda’s last day in Okinawa.  They don’t relate to food, but they’re fun!

Close at 25:00?? Hmmmmm....

We blew our own glass. It was pretty tricky! Check out the sweet protective gear we got to wear!

The sun finally came out for Amanda's last day!

Have you ever given up sugar before?  If so, did you notice any changes in your body, energy levels, overall health?  We’re curious to hear about your experience eating more naturally so please leave your comments below!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

